New Kent Charles City Chronicle

News for New Kent County and Charles City County, Virginia | February 28, 2020

Coming Events

CC Black History program

Black History Program entitled “I Was Always a Union Man” is Friday, Feb. 28, 11 a.m., at the Charles City Library.

Heritage Public Library

From the Heart Stitchers- Tuesday, Mar. 3, 1 p.m., NK branch, and Monday, Mar. 16, 2 p.m., CC branch.

Paws to Read- Tuesday, Mar. 3, 6:30 p.m., NK branch; registration required.

Table games- Thursday, Mar. 5, 1 p.m., CC branch.

Second Tuesday book discussion- Mar. 10, 1 p.m., NK branch. Book is “Before We Were Yours.”

Teen Advisory Board meeting-
Tuesday, Mar. 10, 7 p.m., NK branch, and Wednesday, Mar. 25, 7 p.m., CC branch.

Adult crafts- Thursday, Mar. 12, 1 p.m., CC branch, and Tuesday, Mar. 24, 1 p.m., NK branch. Decorative magnets; registration required.

Movie Night- Friday, Mar. 13, 5:30 p.m., NK branch. Movie is “Frozen II.”

Book discussion- Thursday, Mar. 19, 1 p.m., CC branch. Book is “Valiant Ambition.”

STEAM LEGO robotics racer- Saturday, Mar. 21, 11 a.m., NK branch; registration required.

Themed book discussion- Monday, Mar. 23, 6 p.m., NK branch. Theme is mystery.

Scanning party- Friday, Mar. 27, 11 a.m., CC branch; contact for details.

Storytelling- Saturday, Mar. 28, 11 a.m., CC branch. Storyteller is Anthony Burcher.

Pre-School Story Time- Mondays 10:30 a.m. CC branch; Fridays 10 in NK branch.

For more information or to register for any of the above, call 966-2480 (NK) or 652-2450 (CC). Info also available at www.heritagepubliclibrary.org.

Charles City Parks and Recreation

Level One Plus Mat Yoga- Each Monday, 8 a.m.

Beginners Mat Yoga- Each Monday and Wednesday, 9 a.m.

Chair Yoga- Each Monday and Wednesday, 10 a.m.

All levels Mat Yoga- Monday, 6 p.m.

Gentle Cardio- Each Tuesday, 9 a.m.

Muscle Conditioning- Each Tuesday, 10 a.m.

Body Sculpt- Each Thursday, 9 a.m.

Fitness Warriors- Each Thursday, 6:30 p.m.

Senior Café- Open Monday-Friday 9 a.m.-12 p.m.

For information, or to sign up for any of the above, call 652-1602 or email Kimberly Barrow at kbarrow@co.charles-city.va.us.