New Kent Charles City Chronicle

News for New Kent County and Charles City County, Virginia | June 1, 2020

Race for sheriff highlights competitive general election ballot in Charles City

By Andre Jones | June 12, 2019 4:33 pm

A three-way dance for the position of sheriff in Charles City County will be the highlight of the 2019 General Election on what is possibly the most competitive ballot in several years for the locality.

Alan M. Jones Sr. will be challenged by former sheriff Javier J. Smith and former Charles City Captain Jayson T. Crawley this upcoming election season. In 2015, Jones defeated Smith 1,186-1,106 to oust him from the post after he served two consecutive terms. Crawley, who served under Smith as a captain, is making his bid for public office in this election.

Charles City’s Board of Supervisors will consist of races in District 1 and District 3 this year. In District 1, incumbent Gilbert A. Smith will be challenged by Helen L. Payne-Jones, who has elected to forgo running for Charles City’s School Board District 1 seat. In District 3, Floyd H. Miles Sr. is being challenged by newcomer Lewis E. Black III. William G. “Bill” Coada is running unopposed in District 2.

Several other public offices in Charles City will also consists of contests. Commonwealth’s Attorney Rob H. Tyler will once again be challenged by Wayne H. Orrell for the position. Tyler defeated Orrell in 2015 to reclaim that post.

Commissioner of the Revenue Denise Burrell Smith will be challenged for the first time eight years as Deborah L. Fuhrman has submitted her name for the position. In the race for county treasurer, Mindy W. Bradby will be seeking re-election as the incumbent is being challenged by LaWanda J. Christian.

Only one spot is being challenged on Charles City’s School Board in the fall election. In District 2, Herbert J. Johnson is being challenged by Rodney L. Tyler for the seat. In District 1, newcomer Joy N. Harris is running unopposed as she looks to replace Payne-Jones. Running for re-election to the school board is District 3 representative Martha W. Harris and at-large member Elvis P. Adkins. Running for the other vacant at-large position is Royce E. Paige, who was ousted as the District 1 representative in 2011 and loss in a subsequent re-election in 2015 to Payne-Jones. Current at-large member Steve Fuhrmann will not pursue re-election.

Other candidates that are running unopposed to represent Charles City in the upcoming general election are Jennifer L. McClellan (Virginia Senate-9th District), DeLores L. McQuinn (Virginia House of Delegates- 70th District) and Charles H. Carter III (Soil and Water Conservation Director Colonial District).