New Kent Charles City Chronicle

News for New Kent County and Charles City County, Virginia | August 14, 2020

Renick voted Commonwealth’s Attorney, Evelyn treasurer to fill New Kent vacancies after election

By Andre Jones | November 6, 2019 12:03 am

Two positions that will be vacated due to retirement have now been filled after results tabulated during Tuesday night’s general election in New Kent County.

In the premiere contest, Scott Renick bested Todd Duval 4,945-3,238 to become the new Commonwealth’s Attorney for New Kent County. Renick will be taking the place of Linwood Gregory, who will be retiring at the end of the year.

“I am very honored and humbled to be elected as the next Commonwealth’s Attorney for New Kent County,” said Renick in a Wednesday afternoon phone call. “I promise that I will try my best to keep the New Kent County community safe.”

In the battle for treasurer, Charles Evelyn defeated Larry Clark 4,661-3,502 to win the elected position. Evelyn will secede Norma Holmes, who will also enter retirement upon the completion of her term.

“I want to thank the voters of New Kent who came out yesterday,” said Evelyn. “It was a good turn out. I look forward to serving the taxpayers of New Kent County.”

In a battle for two spots to the Colonial Soil and Water Conservation District, Edward Davis and Philip Thomson received the approval from voters, eliminating Stanislaw Grzeda from competition. Davis hauled in 4,610 votes, Thomson brought in 3,404 votes, and Grzeda pulled in 1,347 votes.

In other countywide voting, Laura Ecimovic (7,650 votes) will serve another term as Commissioner of the Revenue, and J. Joe McLaughlin Jr. (7,986 votes) has been re-elected as sheriff of New Kent County for an additional four years.

New Kent’s Board of Supervisors will stay intact. In contested races, Tommy Tiller defeated Kate West Ferris 1,134-710 to retain his seat as the county representative for District 2. In District 3, incumbent Patricia Paige toppled challenge Joe Dombroski 1,252-474 to maintain her spot on the board of supervisors. Thomas Evelyn (1,541 votes) of District 1 and Ron Stiers (1,471) of District 4 were uncontested.

“I want to thank God, my family, [campaign manager] Breanne Armburst, John and Donna Britt, the Evelyn family, but most importantly, the voters and the supporters for their trust in me,” said Paige in a Wednesday morning interview. “I am honored and humbled to serve New Kent County, and I am thankful for the opportunity to grow New Kent together with dignity, respect, and truth.”

In the contest to become the new District 5 representative to the Board of Supervisors, John Lockwood defeated Rodell Coffman 904-469 for the position. Lockwood will take over the role that is being vacated by Ray Davis.

There will be a change on New Kent’s School Board for the next four years. Newcomer Wayne Meade triumphed over incumbent Adriane Marshall 794-724 for the District 1 seat in the closest race of the election. In the other contested race for a school board seat, current District 4 representative Sarah Grier-Barber held onto her position in a tight race against Paul Ross, winning by less than 100 votes (830-748).

School board District 2 representative Kristin Swynford (1,666), District 3 representative Andrea Staskiel (1,500), and District 5 representative Gail Hardinge (1,209) all retained their chairs in uncontested races.

In the battle for the 97th seat in the House of Delegates, Scott Wyatt defeated Kevin Washington 18,273-8713 in votes. An additional 5,793 votes were write-ins, presumably for the campaign to keep Chris Peace in that position. In New Kent, voting favored Wyatt 4,239-2,427 over Washington, with 1,963 votes cast via write-in.

Finally, in the battle for the District 3 seat to the Virginia Senate, incumbent Tommy Norment pulled in nearly 50,000 votes to defeat challenger Herbert Jones Jr.

Of the 49,828 votes Norment earned, approximately 5,311 were cast in New Kent. Jones totaled 30,867 votes, with 2,933 from supporters in New Kent.